How To Eat Vegan At Subway: All The Plant-Based Options

Subway now has an extensive vegan menu in many countries - here’s what you need to know


5 Minutes Read

The outside of vegan-friendly chain restaurant Subway Subway has been expending its vegan menu over the last few years - Media Credit: Adobe Stock

Subway is one of the world’s most popular sandwich chains, known for its footlong subs, wraps, and salads. The fast food restaurant has traditionally relied on meat and cheese, but it now has an extensive vegan menu. 

Founded in 1965 in Bridgeport, Connecticut, Subway was originally established as a sandwich shop called Pete’s Super Submarines. Since changing its name in the early 1970s, it has expanded to more than 100 countries and territories. As of 2015, it was the fastest-growing franchise in the world. There are now more Subways on Earth than any other restaurant chain (even more than McDonald’s). Most of its branches are in the US, but it also has more than 2,000 in the UK, and many more in other countries throughout the world. 

A few years ago, plant-based Subway fans relied solely on the trusty Veggie Delight – a sandwich made entirely of salad items. Though this is still popular menu fixture, the vegan options at Subway have increased substantially.

Here’s everything you need to know about eating vegan at Subway. 

Please note: You should always check with your server to ensure that what you’re ordering is vegan. The menu is subject to change. Cross-contamination also may be an issue at some restaurants. 

Subway UK vegan menu

A sub from vegan-friendly fast food restaurant Subway
Adobe Stock Subway is one of the most popular fast food restaurants in the world

Vegan mains

Back in 2019, Subway launched its first vegan-friendly patty. The patty was available as part of a sub or salad, and was spiced with red pepper, chili, garlic, and red onions. In 2020, Subway widened its plant-based options even more to a “Meatless Marinara.” A take on its famous Meatball Marinara, the vegan version features meat-free balls alongside vegan cheese in a tomato sauce. This has since been discontinued, however, and the The Subway vegan menu now consists of the following:

  • Rockin’ Morrocan Wrap (plant patty with sweet onion and garlic & herb sauce, alongiside crispy onions, lettuce, cucumber, pepper, and marinara sauce, all in a toasted tortilla wrap
  • Veggie Delight: A create your own sub filled with salad and sauces (just make sure to only select the vegan sauces)
  • Plant Patty: A vegan vegetable-based patty

You can also create your own sub, if you ensure to include only plant-based ingredients and bread. 

Which Subway UK bread is vegan?

Most of Subway’s breads in the UK are suitable for those on a plant-based diet. The only exceptions are Italian Herb & Cheese Bread, as well as Honey & Oat Bread.

The vegan breads include: 

  • Italian White Bread
  • 9-Grain Wheat Bread
  • Hearty Italian Bread
  • Gluten Free Bread 
  • Plain Tortilla Wrap

What cheese and vegetables are suitable for vegans?

Subway has its own Vegan CheeZe, which you can order in any sub. The vegetables suitable for vegans are jalapeños, lettuce, cucumber, mixed peppers, tomato, onion, carrot, pickles, sweetcorn, and olives. 

What sauces and condiments are vegan?

The inside of vegan-friendly fast food restaurant Subway
Adobe Stock It’s possible to make your own vegan subs in many Subway stores

The vegan sauces condiments (according to Subway’s allergen guide) are as follows: 

  • Sticky Sweet Chilli Sauce
  • Sweet Onion Sauce
  • Tomato Ketchup
  • Garlic & Herb Sauce
  • Teriyaki Sauce
  • Sriracha Sauce
  • Salsa
  • Marinara Sauce
  • Garlic Infused Oil
  • Caramelised Red Onion In Balsamic Vinegar
  • Crispy Onions
  • Sea Salt / Mixed Peppercorns / Chilli Flakes
  • Southwest Seasoning
  • Multi-Seed Mix

Vegan desserts

There is currently one vegan dessert on the Subway UK menu, which is the Vegan Double Chocolate Cookie. 

Subway USA vegan menu

While the UK has an ever-growing plant-based menu, the situation is a little different across the pond. Subway USA has yet to introduce a vegan-friendly sub. It is possible, however, to make your own meal. Here’s what you need to know. 

How to order a vegan sub in the US

The only bread that’s suitable for vegans is the Artisan Italian. You can use this bread to have a classic Veggie Delight, made up of your choice of vegetables including cucumbers, banana peppers, lettuce, black olives, peppers, onions, tomato, pickles, spinach, and jalapeños. In some locations, Subway offers a vegan-friendly veggie patty, though you should always check before ordering. 

Condiments and sauces suitable for vegans include: 

  • Buffalo sauce
  • Mustard 
  • Oil 
  • Barbecue sauce
  • Creamy Italian
  • Fire-roasted Tomato Sauce
  • Giardiniera
  • Golden Italian
  • Hot pepper relish
  • Ketchup
  • Sweet chili sauce
  • Red wine vinegar
  • Sweet onion teriyaki
  • Black pepper
  • Sea salt  

Vegan Subway across the world

A number of other countries have introduced plant-based options at their Subways. A key example is Mexico, which added a Teriyaki Veg sandwich to 800 locations in July 2023. The addition was in partnership with plant-based organization EligeVeg, and features vegan chicken in a sweet and tangy sauce. 

In January 2023, Subway announced a partnership with The Vegetarian Butcher in Europe. This plant-based meat is also available in countries including Ireland, Switzerland, Germany, Austria, Sweden, the Netherlands, Norway, and Finland.

More like this:

Become A Plant Based Chef with our 1000+ recipes! 🥦

We know it can be hard to keep cooking up tasty, exciting meals. So we thought of them for you! Browse our selection of vegan recipes below.

© 2024 Plant Based News is a mission-led impact media platform focused on elevating the plant-based diet and its benefit to human health, the planet, and animals. | Plant Based News Ltd, PO Box 71173, London, SE20 9DQ, United Kingdom.