National Beer Day: 6 Vegan Alcohol Brands To Try- Plant Based News
National Beer Day: 6 Vegan-Friendly Alcohol Brands You Should Know About Always drink responsibly. - Media Credit: Adobe. Do not use without permission.

National Beer Day: 6 Vegan-Friendly Alcohol Brands You Should Know About

Not all alcohol is vegan, as animal-products such as gelatin, isinglass, and egg, are commonly used during the filtering process

By

4 Minutes Read

It’s national beer day and the pubs are still closed. But, if you’re planning on making a quick trip to the booze aisle after work – here are some vegan alcohol brands you should know about.

In case you didn’t know, not all alcohol is vegan. This is because animal-derived ingredients such as gelatin, isinglass, and egg, are commonly used during the filtering process.

Vegan alcohol

When in doubt, check Barnivore. It is an online database with over 30,000 alcoholic beverages that will aid you in the quest to find vegan booze.

It’s also worth noting that many companies change their ingredients from time to time. So, it’s always worth double checking online – or searching for vegan verification on the bottle.

1. Amaretto

Is amaretto alcohol vegan
Credit: Disaronno

Although Amaretto is known to use an infusion of the Amaretti cookies, and its original recipe included egg whites and honey, most Ameretto brands are actually vegan-friendly.

Brands such as Lazzaroni, Disaronno, and Maraschino all offer Amaretto that is suitable for vegans.

2. Old Mout: Kiwi and Lime

vegan cider
Old Mout has several vegan-friendly ciders!

You might be surprised to learn that many of the brand’s ciders are vegan! 

Although some of Old Mout’s drinks contain cochineal, Passionfruit and Apple is also vegan-friendly. If in doubt, check Barnivore!

3. Amstel

vegan beer
Credit: Amstel

Amstel’s entire range of lagers and radlers are vegan-friendly, with no animal-based process aids used in the brewing process.

Amstel, which is a Heineken-owned brewery brand, offers Amstel Lager, Amstel Light, and Amstel Radler.

4. Frog’s Leap

vegan wine
Not All of Frog’s Leap’s offerings are vegan

Frog’s Leap has several vegan wines on offer, including the Red Wine, Pink, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, and Chardonnay.

However, it is worth noticing that its Riesling and Sauvignon Blanc are not suitable for vegans.

5. Pimm’s

vegan pimm's
The popular liqueur brand is vegan!

Fruit liqueur favorite Pimm’s is fully vegan. Yes, that’s right: fully vegan!

Pimm’s Blackberry & Elderflower, No. 1 Cup, and Winter are all ethically-sourced and suitable for vegans. It is never too soon to pretend your on holiday in the sun drinking Pimm’s!

6. Guinness

vegan guinness
The brand didn’t used to be vegan-friendly, but altered its filtering process back in 2018…

Back in 2018, Guinness announced all of its products are vegan-friendly after it stopped filtering drinks using isinglass.

On its website, the company states: “Our new state-of-the-art filtration process has removed the use of isinglass as a means of filtration and therefore made the ingredients in Guinness Draught, Guinness Extra Stout and Guinness Foreign Extra Stout vegan friendly.”

Millions around the world trust Plant Based News for content about navigating our changing planet & our role in it.

Our independent team of journalists and experts are committed to making an impact through a wide range of content—and you can help by supporting our work today.

heading/author

The Author

heading/comments

Leave a Comment

Plant Based News Comment Policy

In short:- If you act with maturity and consideration for other users, you should have no problems. Please read our Comment policy before commenting.

Comments [0]  
buttons/scroll-to-top/scroll-to-top-small-active