Is coke vegan? The Coca-Cola company says most of its drinks are vegan The beverage giant is behind big names such as Dr Pepper and Fanta but they're not all vegan - Media Credit: Adobe. Do not use without permission.

Is Coca-Cola Vegan? Everything You Need To Know About Soda Ingredients

By

5 Minutes Read

Could it be that the world’s most iconic fizzy drink is off-limits for vegans? The title is held by Coca-Cola of course, with its iconic red trucks and unforgettable taste known all over the globe. The beverage giant is also behind favorites such as Fanta, Dr Pepper, Lilt, and Powerade. But some of its most renowned sodas contain animal-derived ingredients. But the most important question of all is, of course: is Coke vegan friendly?

And, what is it inside sodas that makes them not suitable for vegans?

Coca-Cola history

This magical brown liquid was born way back in 1886 in Atlanta, Georgia. Pharmacist Dr John Stith Pemberton crafted the syrup, serving it inside a jug down the streets outside Jacob’s Pharmacy. Here, its main ingredients were cocaine and caffeine: which inspired the name.

Since then, there have been many iterations, such as Diet Coke, Coca Cola Zero Sugar, and flavors from cherry, vanilla, and even coffee.

Now, the company offers 200 brands worldwide across a wealth of countries.

In the US alone, there are 800 different drinks available. And over 2020, the company boasted revenue of a staggering $33 billion.

But whilst many vegans may have thought their beloved fizz was free from the reigns of the animal agriculture industry, sadly that is not the case…

Coke ingredients explained

Is coke vegan?
Adobe Do not use without permission. Each can of Coca Cola Classic contains more than 30 grams of sugar

Coca-Cola Classic contains six ingredients, though the drink is around 90 percent carbonated water. It also includes sugar, caramel color, phosphoric acid, caffeine, and a blend of secret natural flavors. On the surface, it would imply that these are vegan ingredients.

After all, the company protests: “Coca-Cola does not contain any ingredients derived from animal sources and can be included in a vegetarian or vegan diet.”

However, animal-derived ingredients can be found in products despite not being labeled as such.

For example, to make wine, it’s common to use ingredients such as isinglass to casein as a filter. This is a similar case in the soda industry too, in order to produce certain colors and flavors: and Coca-Cola is no different.

Is sugar vegan?

A key ingredient in fizzy favorites is sugar, of course. Each can of Coca-Cola, for instance, contains 39 grams of the stuff. It is widely considered that most sugars are vegan. But shockingly, many are made using animal bones.

Bone char, as it’s often known, is added to achieve a white color: but it’s unlikely you’ll find it listed on the box of your favorite brand. The char, also called ‘natural carbon’, comes from the bones of slaughtered cows.

Despite brown sugar not needing such color, companies which produce this type may be likely to use bone char too.

The types of sugar found in Coca-Cola vary from country to country. It’s either high fructose corn syrup or sugar, the company states. Via its website, Coca-Cola says it uses aspartame in ‘some’ of its products to offer less sugar and fewer calories.

In the UK, Ireland, and Australia at least, aspartame is a common artificial sweetener. It’s made from amino acids, and whilst it’s not sourced from animals, it has been ‘extensively’ tested on animals.

Products that contain it include Coke Zero Sugar, Diet Coke, Fanta Zero, and Sprite Zero. So in terms of the risk of bone char, the brand classic Coke is vegan, right?

Fish gelatin

Is coke vegan?
Adobe Do not use without permission. Some of Coca-Cola’s products contain fish gelatin

According to Coca-Cola, its non-vegan products contain ‘small traces’ of fish gelatin. The product is extracted from the collagen in fish scales before it’s soaked in hot water.

Largely, it is used as a stabilizer in the food industry – but it’s also used as a gelling agent and thickener. Whilst gelatin is often harvested from pigs, fish gelatin has become more common because it overcomes religious concerns: as Jewish and Muslim faiths avoid pork consumption.

For Coca-Cola, the gelatin is used to create the beta-carotene color in some of its products.

Whilst the orange color may be made using fish gelatin, beta-carotene is actually a common component of plants, such as carrots. Moreover, it can be extracted from algae. But in the food industry, it is often recreated, replicated, and synthesized.

Other Coca-Cola drinks

Some of Coca-Cola’s most well-known drink brands include Lilt and Schweppes. However, both are neither suitable for vegans nor vegetarians because they contain fish gelatin.

The brand’s full list of products containing animal products are:

  • Lilt/Lilt Zero
  • Kia-Orange Orange Squash No Added Sugar
  • Scweppes Indian Tonic Water/Orange Squash
  • Honest Lemon and Honey
  • Glaceua Vitaminwater Zero Sunshine and Multi V
  • Costa Coffee Ready-to-Drink Latte/Caramel Latte/Americano

Animal testing

Back in 2007, Coca-Cola revealed it would stop conducting and funding animal products. In a letter, PETA announced, the company stated: “The Coca-Cola Company does not conduct animal tests and does not directly fund animal tests on beverages.”

Moreover, it said it would send letters to partners and research organizations insisting they use alternative methods.

In the past, the company is reported to have been involved in controversial practices such as force-feeding rats its ‘caramel color’.

Vegan options

Coca-Cola affirms most of its drinks are vegan-friendly. They include:

  • Coca-Cola Classic/Zero Sugar/Energy
  • Diet Coke
  • Glaceau Smartwater/Vitaminwater
  • Dr Pepper
  • Sprite
  • Fanta
  • Oasis
  • Powerade
  • Rose’s
  • Schweppes
  • Fuzetea

However, it is unclear whether any of its drinks may contain non-vegan sugar. So, what’s the answer? Some may avoid the risk of bone char by avoiding sugar or artificial sweeteners altogether.

As PETA proclaims, eating vegan ‘isn’t about perfection’. And, you shouldn’t ‘stress too hard’ about sugar if unsure exactly how it was produced.

Millions around the world trust Plant Based News for content about navigating our changing planet & our role in it.

Our independent team of journalists and experts are committed to making an impact through a wide range of content—and you can help by supporting our work today.

heading/author

The Author

Emily Baker

Emily is a journalist based in Devon, where she reports on issues affecting local people from politics to the environment. She has also written features on feminism for Polyester Magazine.

More by Emily Baker iconography/arrow-right

heading/comments

Leave a Comment

Plant Based News Comment Policy

In short:- If you act with maturity and consideration for other users, you should have no problems. Please read our Comment policy before commenting.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
9 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Micah Perry
11 months ago

39 grams of sugar in each can! The animal products are one thing, but this is reason enough!

John
John
11 months ago

I grew up drinking coca-cola, when it used flavoring. Now when I drink all I taste is Sodium! It used to have 15/20 mg of Sodium, now it is much higher. Kindly do not tell me that it improves the flavor, because IT DOES NOT!!!

Stephen Harris
Stephen Harris
11 months ago

This article is confusing and inconsistent. For example the “Other Coca-Cola products” section lists Schweppes Indian Tonic Water and Orange Squash as containing animal products but the “Vegan options” section gives Schweppes products the green light. So which is it?

Darrell Sawczuk
Darrell Sawczuk
11 months ago
Reply to  Stephen Harris

Coca Cola are not very clear on this topic…

‘According to Coca-Cola, beverages under the Schweppes brand that aren’t suitable for vegans are the Indian Tonic Water and Orange Squash. This indicates other iterations under its Schweppes brand may be suitable for vegans. But, as discussed in the article, those products may contain a sugar brand that is not completely vegan.’

Thanks for your comment

Stickler
Stickler
11 months ago

Perhaps you might consider also doing a piece on why Diet Pepsi isn’t suitable for vegans, including comment from Pepsico on their rationale? (“Our entire range is suitable for vegetarian and vegan diets, apart from Diet Pepsi which isn’t suitable for vegans”).

Aaron Boone
Aaron Boone
11 months ago

The taste of murdered Colombian trade unionists.

Neil De Silva
Neil De Silva
11 months ago

How many People have Coca Cola annihilated around the World – in the past 50 years? Why is it even allowed to be Consumed? How Many Mexicans die Every Years from Coca Cola?

Tony
Tony
10 months ago

The use of bone char sugar is highly dependent in where the sugar comes from. In Australia the use of bone char to produce sugar is considered a barbaric and outdated practice that is not used any longer.

Tony
Tony
10 months ago

I’d love to see an article about the mercury content found in high fructose corn syrup, or what happened to the FDA whistleblower who tried to expose it

buttons/scroll-to-top/scroll-to-top-small-active