Vegans Shocked To Discover Kellogg’s Frosted Wheats Contain Beef Gelatin


1 Minutes Read

Is your cereal vegan? (Photo: Adobe. Do not use without permission) - Media Credit:

Food giant Kellogg’s has been slammed after vegans discover its frosted wheat cereals contain beef gelatin.

‘Unnecessary and disgusting’

Twitter user ‘_ayrtonnn’ uploaded a photo of the product’s ingredient list, captioned: “Eww look! Kellogg’s UK Frosted Wheats have beef gelatin added to them! Be careful, they are not suitable for veggies/vegans! Why!? So unnecessary and disgusting!”

The tweet, which attracted hundreds of likes and more than 50 comments, saw many vegans outraged at Kellogg’s decision to use gelatin – an ingredient made from boiling animals’ skin, cartilage, and bones.

“Oh FFS! That’s just ridiculous. Thanks for pointing this out. I check cereals for milk—nicely highlighted in bold—but never occurred to me to scan for gelatin!” another Twitter user complained.

The company, who committed to ending animal testing after 65 years earlier this year, also came under fire for fortifying its cereal with Vitamin D, sourced ‘from a non-vegan origin’.

Vegan range

The company does, however, sell vegan products as part of its plant-based range ‘W.K Kellogg’s‘ – all of which aren’t fortified with Vitamin D.

“We recognize that consumers tastes are changing and that people want more choice at breakfast, such as organic and vegan, so these are areas we will continue to explore,” Kellogg’s state on its website.

Join The Plant Based Newsletter and we will plant a tree! 🌳

We plant a tree for every signup. You’ll receive our weekly news round-up and be the first to hear about, product launches, exclusive offers and more!

© 2024 Plant Based News is a mission-led impact media platform focused on elevating the plant-based diet and its benefit to human health, the planet, and animals. | Plant Based News Ltd, PO Box 71173, London, SE20 9DQ, United Kingdom.