Shoppers are reminded to check the packaging - this is the old packaging - the new bag says 'vegan-friendly'  - Media Credit:

130-Year-Old Iconic Sweets Rowntree’s Fruit Pastilles ‘Officially Going Vegan’


2 Minutes Read

Iconic British sweets Rowntree’s Fruit Pastilles are officially going vegan, according to Vegan Food UK.

Vegan Food UK is an online organization sharing vegan food news, reviews, vlogs, and more. It operates across multiple social media platforms, with a Facebook group, Facebook page, YouTube channel, and Instagram account.

It revealed the news in an Instagram post shared earlier today, in which it also revealed that Jelly Tots sweets – also made by Rowntree’s and already suitable for vegans – will soon boast new packaging which says they are vegan-friendly.

Vegan sweets

Rowntree’s Fruit Pastilles – which were developed by confectioner Henry Rowntree alongside his brother Joseph, and French confectioner August Claude Gaget more than 130-years-ago – contain gelatine, meaning they are not suitable for vegans or vegetarians. 

But according to VeganFoodUK, the new recipe will be free-from animal ingredients.

Sharing an image of the new packaging, the organization wrote: “BREAKING: Rowntree’s Fruit Pastilles are officially going vegan. We have evidence that Rowntree’s Fruit Pastilles are going vegan, with new vegan labeling. Swipe left to see that Rowntree’s Jelly Tots will also get new vegan labeling too.”

The group reminded shoppers to make sure they check the packaging on the sweets before buying, to ensure they pick up the new vegan recipe pastilles.

Millions around the world trust Plant Based News for content about navigating our changing planet & our role in it.

Our independent team of journalists and experts are committed to making an impact through a wide range of content—and you can help by supporting our work today.


The Author

Maria Chiorando

Maria is the former editor for Plant Based News. She has been a newspaper reporter and features writer. Her work has been published by The Guardian and The Huffington Post, among others

More by Maria Chiorando iconography/arrow-right


Leave a Comment

Plant Based News Comment Policy

In short:- If you act with maturity and consideration for other users, you should have no problems. Please read our Comment policy before commenting.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 years ago

How silly.