Reading Time: < 1 minute 'This is really sad times as we all know the cruelty to cows in using dairy in anything' Credit: Adobe. Do not use without permission.
Reading Time: < 1 minute

Chocolate giant Cadbury is causing a stir after it was found that a popular product under the Bournville brand is no longer vegan.

After the news circled on social media, a frenzy ensued. Moreover, many questioned why Skimmed Milk Powder was now listed as an ingredient.

Bournville

Whilst Bournville has been considered ‘accidentally vegan’ since its launch, Vegan Food UK announced yesterday that its Giant Buttons are no longer vegan-friendly.

This is because now, milk is an active ingredient.

Vegan Food UK announced the news on social media this week

Vegan Food UK is an online organization sharing vegan food news, reviews, vlogs, and more. It operates across multiple social media platforms, with a Facebook groupFacebook pageYouTube channel, and Instagram account.

‘This is really sad times as we all know the cruelty to cows in using dairy in anything’, the organization wrote.

Cadbury

One user branded the move a ‘very poor’ decision both in terms of ethics and marketing. Another said it was ‘disappointing’.

Currently, Cadbury’s Bournville Dark Chocolate bars remain free from dairy. However, all the brand’s products carry the allergy advice warning that they are not suitable for anyone who is allergic to milk.

One of its competitors unveiled a vegan version of one of its most popular products in the UK this year.

The Swiss conglomerate Nestlé’s vegan KitKat is now available nationwide. 

However, it’s currently unclear whether Cadbury plans to follow in its footsteps and release a vegan version of its Giant Buttons in the future.

PBN has contacted Cadbury for comment

Emily is a News and Features Writer for Plant Based News. She has previously worked as a journalist in Devon, UK, reporting on local issues from politics to the environment.