Burger King's Rebel Whopper Branded 'Missed Opportunity' By Vegans
The Rebel Whopper features lettuce, onion, tomato, pickle, and mayo  - but replaces meat with a meat-free patty (Photo: Burger King) - Media Credit:

Burger King’s Rebel Whopper Branded ‘Missed Opportunity’ By Vegans


3 Minutes Read

Burger King UK has revealed it is launching a burger featuring a meat-free patty in the UK from today.*

The Rebel Whopper features the patty from theVegetarian Butcher alongside lettuce, onion, tomato, pickle and non-vegan mayonnaise on a bun. (Mayo can be removed).

The burger has been branded a ‘missed opportunity‘ by The Vegan Society, for featuring the mayo and because the patty is cooked with meat, meaning it will come into contact with residue and grease from animal products.

Burger King Rebel Whopper

“You asked and we listened. Introducing the Rebel Whopper, our first plant-based burger,” Burger King UK posted on Instagram.

“Pick up yours exclusively with the app on the 6th and 7th and then available as usual from the 8th. T&Cs apply.”

The advert itself states: “Product is cooked alongside meat products.”


Animal products

“A plant-based burger but they’ve put non-vegan mayo on it and are cooking it with the beef patties… what’s the point? Who’s buying this lol? Shame I was so excited when I saw it,” one user wrote on the post.

“‘You asked for it, we listened.’ A plant-based burger that is neither vegan or even vegetarian? WHO ASKED FOR THAT?! Massive fail.,” another said.

Another added: “Oh how sad the whole point of going plant-based is to avoid anything to do with animal products! What an UTTER FAIL.”

‘Not vegan or vegetarian’

Burger King told Plant Based News: “Whilst the patty itself is completely plant-based, the Rebel Whopper is cooked on the same Burger King broiler as our beef to provide our signature flame-grilled taste, so we do not label the burger as vegan or vegetarian. 

“Also, like the classic Whopper, the Rebel Whopper does include mayonnaise so is not suitable for vegans – however customers can, of course, ask for theirs without mayo to have it their way.

“The burger patty is plant-based made from soy, but as standard, the Rebel is served with mayo which, again, has always been made clear in advertising and in the press release and the fact that the mayo has egg is very explicit in allergen information in-store and online. The labeling of the burger meets guidelines and again, has always been very consistent and clear on our side.”


Not all vegans are worried about the cross-contamination risks of cooking plant-based food next to animal products (assuming there are no allergy risks).

Speaking about the issue, animal rights charity PETA says: “We urge vegans not to insist that their food be cooked on equipment separate from that used to cook meat; doing so doesn’t help any additional animals, and it only makes restaurants less inclined to offer vegan choices (which, again, hurts animals).”

*The burger is available exclusively with the app on January 6 and 7, and then available as usual from the 8.

**This article was updated on January 7. The headline was re-written, removing the words ‘meat-free’, and the description of how the patty is cooked was updated, and a quote from Burger King.

Millions around the world trust Plant Based News for content about navigating our changing planet & our role in it.

Our independent team of journalists
and experts are committed to making an impact through a wide range of content—and
you can help by supporting our work today.


The Author

Maria Chiorando

Maria is the former editor for Plant Based News. She has been a newspaper reporter and features writer. Her work has been published by The Guardian and The Huffington Post, among others

More by Maria Chiorando iconography/arrow-right


Leave a Comment

Plant Based News Comment Policy

In short:- If you act with maturity and consideration for other users, you should have no problems. Please read our Comment policy before commenting.

Comments [0]