The company announced it would veganize its products back in 2015 (Photo: Vimeo) - Media Credit:

All Guinness Is Now Suitable For Vegans – Draft, Bottle And Can

By

1 Minutes Read

All forms of Guinness – including draft, cans, and bottles – are now suitable for vegans.

Guinness used to be filtered with isinglass (fish swim bladders) but the company announced back in 2015 that it would be using implementing a new filtration system that was veg-friendly.

By April 2017, draft Guinness was suitable for vegans – but bottles and cans still contained isinglass.

‘Filtration’

In a statement, Guinness manufacturer Diageo said: “Our new filtration process has removed the use of isinglass as a means of filtration and vegans can now enjoy a pint of Guinness.”

According to Diego, the recipe hasn’t changed – just the filtration method.

Millions around the world trust Plant Based News for content about navigating our changing planet & our role in it.

Our independent team of journalists and experts are committed to making an impact through a wide range of content—and you can help by supporting our work today.

heading/author

The Author

Maria Chiorando

Maria is the former editor for Plant Based News. She has been a newspaper reporter and features writer. Her work has been published by The Guardian and The Huffington Post, among others

More by Maria Chiorando iconography/arrow-right

heading/comments

Leave a Comment

Plant Based News Comment Policy

In short:- If you act with maturity and consideration for other users, you should have no problems. Please read our Comment policy before commenting.

Comments are closed.

buttons/scroll-to-top/scroll-to-top-small-active